Amazing Ants

Okay, I actually hate ants. Maybe hate is too strong. Really, really dislike. Once they get on me, I can’t shake the feeling that there are more on me. They get in my food. Hell, they even got between the protective plastic and the screen of my laptop (my first instinct was to poke it with the mouse, the second was to take a screen shot…).

But…they are also really, really cool. In the video below, scientists pour over 10 tons of concrete into an ant colony, and then excavate it to see the tunnel and chamber structure the ants have created. It’s really quite impressive.

– Neil.

~ by Nocturnal Discourse on 25 May 2009.

One Response to “Amazing Ants”

  1. AMAZING! Never realized that an ant colony was so complex. An engineer’s mind!

Comments are closed.

 
